Which Is Better-Brush Or Sponge Applicator For Eyeshadows? Discuss with me!

17 Dec

2013-Free-shipping-100PCS-LOT-Disposable-Cosmetic-Make-Up-font-b-EyeShadow-b-font-Lip-font

Happy Tuesday!  I haven’t done a post for a few days, but some of you who are on the Facebook page Blogging Shares (click here to join if you want to join the group to share your blog) already know my craziness that is going on. Those who don’t, not only is Christmas is next week (eek!) I put in an application to adopt a 9 week old dachshund.   I will know Thursday if we were approved, cross your fingers for us, we’ve been looking for several months now and it just seemed like the right time.

So now onto the question.  I’ve been doing my makeup for years now and I always went back and forth from using the sponge applicator to using a brush.  What I always go back to is the sponge.  For some reason I find that I get more color on it then I do with a brush.  I feel like I have to go over it and over to get the saturation of color that I want. With a sponge maybe two swipes and I am there.  I do go back with a brush sometime to blend when needed.

imagesI feel like I get this with a sponge

imagesfffThis with a brush

So my question is what do you like to use? What do you think is better? Or do you use something completely different or both?  Discuss!

11 Responses to “Which Is Better-Brush Or Sponge Applicator For Eyeshadows? Discuss with me!”

  1. dragonfly December 17, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

    I use both types but have to say I do like sponges

    • Jenn December 17, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

      I think I’ll always stick with the sponges. Plus they are cheap and I can throw them away when I need too.

      • dragonfly December 17, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

        nothing wrong with that at all!

  2. muireann04 December 17, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

    For some reason I’ve never even thought of using a sponger for eye makeup but I use one for foundation so why not. Obviously my answer is I use a brush up until now.

    • Jenn December 17, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

      I use the cheap sponfe tip applicators just so I dont have excess eyeshadow fall on my face. Thats why I also like them better

  3. beautifulgoodies December 17, 2013 at 11:38 pm #

    I own a few brushes, but always seem to go back to sponges. I can buy a pack of 20 sponge applicators for a little more than $1 at Target and throw them away and not worry about the cost to replace them (I HATE cleaning brushes). I agree the pigmentation is better with a sponge and, generally speaking, I experience less fall-out onto my cheeks.
    – Michelle

    • Jenn December 18, 2013 at 8:43 am #

      Thats how I feel too

  4. She December 18, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    I prefer brushes because I find sponges make awkward angles for application so I get makeup everywhere and find that they take up a lot of product themselves.

    • Jenn December 18, 2013 at 8:44 am #

      I totally agree on the akward angles. That is the only thing I do not care for in the sponges.

  5. jen December 18, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

    I’m definitely a brush person – I like the ability to blend easier with them, but I have to say to achieve more complex looks like the first picture, I have multiple shadow brushes in the same styles so you don’t mix colors. If I need to isolate a color, I just use my finger (clean of course) to pat it on an area. I don’t think I’m anti-sponge, its just that I’ve never really used them – maybe I’ll have to give them a try again! This is a great discussion! 🙂

    • Jenn December 18, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

      You raise some great points. I guess I feel that tons of brushea can be cumbersome. Where sponges can be used a few times and thrown out. I worry about dust and bacteria collecting on the brushes tpo so thats a part why I dont like them that much either. Thanks for chiming in1

Leave a Reply

Nyrmirez

" Be your own kind of beautiful"

Kflowermaquillage - Musings on Makeup & Beauty

Makeup artist from Australia with an obsession for all things beauty

WhatSheDoesNow

♡ fashion, beauty, positivity ♡

Rosetta Bakes!

Welcome to Rosetta Bakes!

Gracious Luck

...small town Nebraska girl trying to make it in the world! *beauty*diy*product reviews*lifestyle*blogger

What Bailey Wears!

everyday fashion from me to you.

I Am My Own Island

Because We all need to find a way to live with ourselves

thescribblingtrain

The steaming scribbles of my thoughts and life.

