What Do You Look Fo In A Mascara? Discuss With Me!

8 Dec

0904-mascara

 

As  I was applying my makeup today I was noticing how many mascaras I have.  It occurred to me that I don’t have a rhyme and reason to what I look for in a mascara. I know one word I usually look for is volumizing.  I’ve used so many that I don’t even pay attention to the brush anymore.  Do they really work?  Have they worked for you?

I also tend to layer several different mascaras to get the expectation that I’m looking for, which is long and not to clump.  But yet all these combinations I haven’t found the one mascara that is the mascara of them all.

So my question to you is, what do you use? Do you use one? Or more? And what do you look for to find the right one for you?

28 Responses to “What Do You Look Fo In A Mascara? Discuss With Me!”

  1. llewsoba December 8, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

    I really just look for one that has a good formula from first use to last. If I want nutty lashes, I wear falsies. Boots No 7 Lash Adapt is the best mascara I’ve ever used.

    • Jenn December 8, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

      I’ve never used falsies. I’m scared that my eyes will look like a porcupine if I use the individuals lol. I guess it takes practice thou.

      • llewsoba December 8, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

        I’ve been cutting whole strips in two and using them on the outside edges. They go on so much easier. You can use the inside half for day, or the outside half for dramatic. Works really well.

      • Jenn December 8, 2013 at 8:21 pm #

        That’s good to know. I might have to pick up some and try that!

      • llewsoba December 8, 2013 at 8:23 pm #

        You should, my eyelids hate lashes and that helps.

  2. mintymilky December 8, 2013 at 5:14 pm #

    I always look for one that gives my lashes volume and holds the curl that I created with a lash curler.
    “essence – I love extreme” mascara is a really good one, it just tends to smudge sometimes :/ Still looking for the perfect one.

    • Jenn December 8, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

      I don’t think I’ll ever find the perfect one. Just ones that I use together to make the perfect one.

  3. juliecrombe December 8, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

    I look for a mascara that makes my lashes look longer! I’m always choosing for a black one, because that makes the color of my eyes look better! I love this image btw!
    Please check out my blog too and let’s follow each other!
    http://www.juliecrombe.com

    • Jenn December 8, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

      Thanks! I always use a black mascara too. I love having extra length one mine too even thou I have long lashes as it is.

  4. lowrisehighhopes December 8, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    I look for volume and I also like my mascara to be super dark.
    Right now I’m using Pupa Vamp in black and I’m pretty satisfied with it.
    http://lowrisehighhopes.wordpress.com

    • Jenn December 8, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

      I like super dark mascara too. Brown doesn’t do anything for my lashes. I’ll have to check out Pupa!

  5. muireann04 December 8, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

    I was forever changing mascaras but I’m currently using Benefit’s They’re Real mascara. I was late on the uptake of this mascara because I thought it would be a let down after my Elizabeth Arden mascara but I was shocked by how good it was on me. Mascara depends on if you want volume or length, I already had the length so I was delighted to find a volumizing mascara that works!

    • Jenn December 8, 2013 at 7:49 pm #

      Maybe that’s my problem I keep going for length and I have that. But I have tried the Benefits one and I really like it.

      • muireann04 December 8, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

        I have very fair lashes so I also get my lashes tinted black at a salon, it’s pretty cheap but I find it great value as I could never get such good coverage with just a mascara and I get days where I don’t want to bother with mascara too.

      • Jenn December 8, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

        I have those days were I don’t even want to wear mascara either. I didn’t even know you could get your lashes tinted. That’s cool.

      • muireann04 December 10, 2013 at 3:53 am #

        You would be anazed what they do at the salon, if you dye your hair dark they can match your eyebrows to it too. Every 8 weeks I get my eyebrows tidied up with waxing and get my lashes tinted, it makes a huge difference.

      • Jenn December 10, 2013 at 6:43 am #

        My brows are thinning. I wonder if I get them tinted darker if it will make them look fuller.

      • muireann04 December 10, 2013 at 8:31 am #

        It should do, because making your lashes darker with tint or even mascara makes them seem fuller.

      • Jenn December 10, 2013 at 8:39 am #

        I think I might give this a try. Thanks!

  6. She December 8, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

    I like a mascara that doesn’t clump or tie my lashes in knots! I think a lot of it can be down to the applicator wand – it’s shape, thickness etc. (I also think an affordable price tag is very important!) Haha 😉 Susan x

    • Jenn December 8, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

      Price is always important! I ran into buying a $30 mascara once and it worked horribly. Lesson learned!

  7. dragonfly December 8, 2013 at 8:04 pm #

    I have a ton too. I seem to get a lot of samples so use those. I have found that some Dior ones I like a lot though

    • Jenn December 8, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

      I did get a Dior sample that I’m still using. But I couldn’t pay the price for a full size even how much I like it.

  8. H M F December 9, 2013 at 8:54 am #

    I love Maxfactor False Lash effect, it really separates and fans lashes out. One thing I really hate though, is that it takes aaaages to dry! x

    • Jenn December 9, 2013 at 11:06 am #

      Wow that sounds like a good one minus the dry time. I hate having to wait!

  9. jinelleloves December 9, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

    I’m definitely into volume, super black and glossy finish.
    I love the Maybelline Rocket Volume and the Tarte Smart Mascara.

    • Jenn December 9, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

      I love the rocket volume!

  10. Sutures and Sand December 10, 2013 at 12:41 am #

    I like mascaras with the plastic brushes, not bristles. Right now I am using Urban Decay Big Fatty. The brush is pretty large, and the mascara doesn’t clump at all! I have had this mascara for months and it still feels like I just opened a new bottle everyday (one of the best feelings is using a brand new mascara!)

Leave a Reply

Nyrmirez

" Be your own kind of beautiful"

Kflowermaquillage - Musings on Makeup & Beauty

Makeup artist from Australia with an obsession for all things beauty

WhatSheDoesNow

♡ fashion, beauty, positivity ♡

Rosetta Bakes!

Welcome to Rosetta Bakes!

Gracious Luck

...small town Nebraska girl trying to make it in the world! *beauty*diy*product reviews*lifestyle*blogger

What Bailey Wears!

everyday fashion from me to you.

I Am My Own Island

Because We all need to find a way to live with ourselves

thescribblingtrain

The steaming scribbles of my thoughts and life.

