Nars Limited Edition Guy Bourdin Promiscuous Lip Pencil Coffret

12 Nov

s1561539-main-hero

So finally I received my NARS limited edition Guy Bourdin collection.  This retails for $45 at Sephora and seems to be just in for a holiday special. I’m a sucker for collections like this.  Also Sephora has going on an 8 sample bag with a $25 purchase, which I will do in a separate post because it’s just that fabulous.

I have been a NARS lover for years now and I know when I get a product from them I am never disappointed.  This time around I am even more pleasantly surprised that the quality of the lip pencils are silkier than usual. They leave a smooth feel on my lips. Unfortunately my phone and camera decided to die for me so I have limited photos for you.

nars 001

The bag is too cute. I actually thing I’m going to use this in my purse to put my makeup that I keep in there.  Those lips are amazing.

nars 003

The colors from left to right:

Cruella, Doce Vita, Sex Machine, Never Say Never and New Lover.  With the exception of New Lover the rest are their Velvet Mattes. New Lover is a Velvet Gloss, and it is a very high gloss to it.  Cruella and Sex Machine come in .06 oz, while the other three are .08 oz. Why the size difference? Not sure, usually the gift sets all run smaller sizes.  I will say for the colors especially Never Say Never they are very pigmented.

nars 025

I have the colors on my hand as the same as the pictures above (this was the last pic my camera took, so terrible representation of the colors….sorry guys!).  You can still see that New Lover has a nice gloss to it.

Have you all purchased any gift sets yet or this particular one?

 

Here is a little story on who Guy Bourdin is to understand the NARS line

Bourdin was the first photographer to create a complex narrative, then snatch a moment — sensual, provocative, shocking, exotic, surrealistic, sometimes sinister — and simply associate it with a fashion item. The narratives were strange and mysterious, sometimes full of violence, sexuality, and surrealism. Bourdin was influenced by his mentor Man Ray, photographer Edward Weston, the surrealist painters Magritte and Balthus, and film maker Luis Buñuel. Even though much less well known to the public than his colleague Helmut Newton (also working for Vogue), Bourdin possibly has been more influential on the younger generations of fashion photographers.-wikipedia

1243767870063 images red_on_green

I would suggest to check out the Guy Bourdin site to get more of an idea of the kind of photography. I do warn you there are a good handful of ones with nudity so definitely NSFW.

2 Responses to “Nars Limited Edition Guy Bourdin Promiscuous Lip Pencil Coffret”

  1. dragonfly November 12, 2013 at 1:03 am #

    this looks great! as far as sets go, I bought that lips set from Sephora. I forget what it was called. but I think you mentioned it in your blog

    • Jenn November 12, 2013 at 1:09 am #

      Was it the Buxom Serial Kisser?

Leave a Reply

Nyrmirez

" Be your own kind of beautiful"

Kflowermaquillage - Musings on Makeup & Beauty

Makeup artist from Australia with an obsession for all things beauty

WhatSheDoesNow

♡ fashion, beauty, positivity ♡

Rosetta Bakes!

Welcome to Rosetta Bakes!

Gracious Luck

...small town Nebraska girl trying to make it in the world! *beauty*diy*product reviews*lifestyle*blogger

What Bailey Wears!

everyday fashion from me to you.

I Am My Own Island

Because We all need to find a way to live with ourselves

thescribblingtrain

The steaming scribbles of my thoughts and life.

