Foundation Brush Vs Sponge

12 Nov

image

I have a confession to make….if I am not using my Bare Minerals foundation that requires a brush, I end up using my finers to apply my liquid foundation.

I know this is a no no but I find that it is quicker for me to do and have a line free application. Here is my question thou, which is better the brush or the sponge?

I recently purchased a sponge applicator where you did a stippling effect. I did not care for it to be honest. I still had to go back and smooth it out. The one pro is that I felt like I used less foundation overall.

As for my brush I did like it, but again I had to go back and smooth it out with my fingers. I did end up using more foundation but I did notice a more air brushed look.

So my question to all, how do you apply your foundation? What do you suggest is the best application?

8 Responses to “Foundation Brush Vs Sponge”

  1. dragonfly November 12, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

    hmm. I do apply foundation with my fingers then smooth it out with a cosmetic sponge. that seems to work for me. never used a brush for foundation before.

    • Jenn November 12, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

      Maybe I will try it that way and see if its any better

  2. muireann04 November 12, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    I always use my fingers although I have a sponge that gets used with concealer.

    • Jenn November 12, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

      Ok cool. I thought I was the few who still used my finger.

  3. She November 12, 2013 at 5:40 pm #

    I don’t use liquid foundation anymore. When I did I used a flatter foundation brush although it created streaks. I find sponges quite drying on my skin too, plus they absorb a lot of the foundation! I almost think fingers are the most effective application! As long as they’re clean – why not!? Haha! Susan x

    • Jenn November 12, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

      I like to use liquid foundation in the winter it seems to lock in the moisture for my skin. But I did notice that the sponge dried me out too. Oh well Ill keep my hands clean lol best tool you can use!

  4. StrangeMadeMe November 20, 2013 at 6:12 am #

    I use powder now mainly, so I use a brush then, occasionally if I have the ELF powder I use their applicator, it’s not a sponge though its more of a fluffy pad and that works fine for powder too. I have never been able to get along with sponges and liquid foundation, sometimes its like the sponge just sucks up the foundation and then gives you uneven coverage, but I suppose it depends on the brand or sponge. I’ve used a brush for concealer and I’ve seen people use brushes for liquid foundation too but I’ve never mastered it without looking streaky! So if I do use liquid I use my fingers too 🙂

    • Jenn November 20, 2013 at 6:41 am #

      Thats pretty much how I do as well. And yes with the brushes it looked streeky for me too. I just find using my fingers a little more hygenic. I have a bad habbit leaving my brushes out and around lol

Leave a Reply

Nyrmirez

" Be your own kind of beautiful"

Kflowermaquillage - Musings on Makeup & Beauty

Makeup artist from Australia with an obsession for all things beauty

WhatSheDoesNow

♡ fashion, beauty, positivity ♡

Rosetta Bakes!

Welcome to Rosetta Bakes!

Gracious Luck

...small town Nebraska girl trying to make it in the world! *beauty*diy*product reviews*lifestyle*blogger

What Bailey Wears!

everyday fashion from me to you.

I Am My Own Island

Because We all need to find a way to live with ourselves

thescribblingtrain

The steaming scribbles of my thoughts and life.

