The Battle of Finding The Best Face Cleanser

8 Oct

index

Hey guys! Long time no blog.  I’ve been battling a sick household for a couple of weeks now and couldn’t muster up the energy to write anything. Also work has been crazy with this government shut down, I won’t even begin with that!  Anyway since I’m back up I got a few blog ideas that have been brewing. Up first I’m going to try to do a weekly thing called  Battle.  This is where I’m going to pin several types of one item.  This week is Battle Face Cleansers.

What inspired me for this is that I have been on the hunt for the best face cleanser being a face wash, scrub or mask, anything that gets the job done. On to the contenders (I just realized that I have my Cosmo magazine under it, so excuse some of the words that are showing…..as I am to lazy to retake these pictures again)

wpid-20131007_193724.jpg

Neutrogena Fresh Foaming Cleanser

Product Description: Fresh Foaming Cleanser is a cleanser and makeup remover in one. Removing makeup before you go to bed has never been easier. This dermatologist-tested formula effectively removes dirt, oil and makeup. It even removes eye makeup, without soaps or oils that can sting or irritate the sensitive eye area. No more raccoon eyes! It rinses completely and won’t leave any pore-clogging residue. Forget the excuses and get refreshingly clean skin and complete makeup removal in one step. Soap-free Oil-free Non-comedogenic (won’t clog pores) Hypoallergenic

Personal Thoughts:  When I first started using it I thought it might be foaming as soon as I used the pump, which didn’t happen. It comes more out like a gel and you have to put water on your face first and then rub it in to foam it up. It lightly foams, but washes off nicely and doesn’t leave any residue on your face.  My skin felt light and refreshed instantly.  Another plus is that it washes off quickly.

Price: I bought it online at Ulta when it was on sale for $6. Amazon is also selling it around that price.

Rating:  9/10

wpid-20131007_193743.jpg

Michael Todd True Organic Jojoba Charcoal Facial Scrub

Product Description:  Unique facial scrub formulated using the powers of Jojoba Wax Beads and Activated Charcoal to effectively remove dead skin, impurities and toxins. Gentle enough for sensitive and acne prone skin types. Jojoba Wax Beads provide gentle exfoliation without leaving microlacerations on delicate skin. Highly absorbent Activated Charcoal penetrates deeply into pores to draw out impurities and toxins.

Personal Thoughts:  This scrub actually suggest you to cleanse your face first.  I used my Neutrogena makeup face wipes first.  I was thinking that the charcoal would become more of a mask but didn’t, it did cover like one thou.  It didn’t have a very heavy feeling either.  While I didn’t think it fully removed all my dead skin (I have dry patches) my skin did feel very fresh.  I did have to take a few more swipes and use an additional wash cloth so I wouldn’t have any residue from the towel and cause a longer of a cleaning process.

Price:  Amazon has a 3.4 oz of this for $12. I received this sample version in my Ipsy bag, which will last me a long time.

Rating:  5/10

wpid-20131007_193801.jpg

St. Ives Apricot Scrub

Product Description: St. Ives, Swiss Formula, invigorating apricot scrub is specially designed for the needs of sensitive skin. It has a creamy formula with mild exfoliants to clean deep into pores. APRICOTS are known to contain one of the highest levels of carotenoids (think vitamin A) and super-effective antioxidants. All of this natural power might seem, well, too powerful, but they are actually quite gentle and nourishing and they help make fresher, more nourished skin beautifully possible.

Personal Thoughts:   Love, love, LOVE the smell.  St. Ives is a great line and it shows due to how long it’s been around.  It does exactly what it says, it is a scrub.  I haven’t used it on a consecutive basis but I like what it did.  The only down side to this is that I once again had to use two different towels. I couldn’t get the scrubbies (yes that’s my technical term) off my skin the first time around and every time I used the original towel it seemed to move the scrubbies around more so then wiping it off.  My face felt nice but still felt like I needed to put my moisturizer on afterwards.

Rating: 7/10

Price: I bought this at Food Lion so the price was jacked up to around $4.50.  Amazon and Target has it cheaper around $3.

wpid-20131007_193837.jpg

Korres Pomegranate Purifying Natural  Face Mask

Product Description: Formulated with white argil, a natural clay with significant sebum-absorbing capacity that removes impurities and deeply cleanses the skin, leaving a fresh and radiant complexion.  Pomegranate extract, rich in tannins, reduces pore size and rejuvenates the skin.  Zinc regulates sebum secretion and provides antibacterial protection, balancing oily skin functions. Formula Facts: 91.1% Natural content NO Petrochemicals, Mineral Oil, Silicones, Parabens, Propylene Glycol, Ethanolamines, Sulphates, Phthalates, Synthetic dye, Nitro musks, Alcohol, Retinol/AHAs, Wheat, Nuts, Animal by-products, Animal testing YES PEG, Fragrance, pH-neutral, Suitable for vegans Packaging Facts:  All packaging components are recyclable . Dermatologically tested.

Personal Thoughts:  First let me say I LOVE KORRES!  I’ve done several reviews on them and am a sucker for the product especially when HSN has a special.  I never liked hand lotion until I bought their bergamont and pear lotion. It’s all natural all the time.   This works like any other mask, except that it goes on white and isn’t super thick and super scary to your boyfriend when he enters the room. It looks more like you are doing a soap wash to your face.  It tightens your face lovely all the while not making it impossible to have emotions.  Removing it is simple and doesn’t take long to wipe off nor it doesn’t require several swipes or more than one towel.  My face felt super cleansed and tight afterwards.  Slight downside that people complain of is the smell. It doesn’t smell like pomegranate  but it’s an odd smell but goes away once on.

Price: Sephora was discontinuing this in their store so I snagged this for $5.  I looked on Amazon since it seems they are doing away with this particular line and they sell it on there for $55 and $24 for the oily complextion

Rating: 9/10

images

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

wpid-20131007_193724.jpg

While it did tie with the Korres, I found that this did it’s job over all the best.

Have you all used any of these? Or do you use something else? Sound off I would love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

Nyrmirez

" Be your own kind of beautiful"

Kflowermaquillage - Musings on Makeup & Beauty

Makeup artist from Australia with an obsession for all things beauty

WhatSheDoesNow

♡ fashion, beauty, positivity ♡

Rosetta Bakes!

Welcome to Rosetta Bakes!

Gracious Luck

...small town Nebraska girl trying to make it in the world! *beauty*diy*product reviews*lifestyle*blogger

What Bailey Wears!

everyday fashion from me to you.

I Am My Own Island

Because We all need to find a way to live with ourselves

thescribblingtrain

The steaming scribbles of my thoughts and life.

