Why I Use Different Foundations Seasonally

1 Sep

index

Over the years of using makeup I have learned that not all foundations are created equally for all seasons.  I’ve used all the possible different formulas out there from loose powdered, press powder, to liquids.  I found out quickly, with having combination skin (with dry spots in the ‘T’ zone) that not just one foundation works during the changing of the seasons.  It took awhile to figure out and now my skin thanks me every day.

Here is what I figured out and use.  For the Spring and Summer months when it starts getting warmer and humid (VA is horrible with it’s humidity) my skin is in desperate need to breathe.  I go with a lighter powdered foundation with a SPF for protection and my usual heavy duty moisturizer.  For those months I use bareMinerals foundation in Medium since I get a little color.I usually got thru 1 1/2 of them so it carries into the next years season switch up.

s747469-main-hero

Sephora Retail $28

For the Fall/ Winter months it’s kind of sketchy in VA.  We can still have some very warm days up until Oct.  The it tends to get harshly cold in Dec/Jan.  My skin screams for moisture 24 hours a day.  I found that if I switch to a liquid foundation locks in the moisturizer longer than the powder.  I think that heavier formula of a liquid foundation tends to last longer in the cooler months.  For those seasons I use NARS Sheer Foundation.  It’s  a little pricey but I found it’s one of the best foundation that I have matched a color perfectly to my fair skin.

s1202043-main-heroSephora Retail $44

As for my go to moisturizer I I love The Body Shop’s Vitamin E Moisture Cream.  The formula is a little thicker and gives me the most amount of moisture my skin loves.  It’s not scented or  greasy and best of all, all natural.  What is also great if you wait The Body shop has some great promos right now they have buy 2 get 2 free and buy 3 and get 3 free on all products.

vitamin-e-moisture-cream_l

The Body Shop Retails $16.50

What kind of foundation do you use? Recommendations?

4 Responses to “Why I Use Different Foundations Seasonally”

  1. Selena Hannah September 1, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    Ugh! I just found out that that Body Shop cream was breaking me out. I had bumpy skin and couldn’t figure out why. I stopped using it because my face was irritated and started using a soothing aloe formula for a week and my acne disappeared along with the bumpy bits. Now my hyperpigmentation is disappearing. Basically all of my problems could be blamed on that lotion. So sad. But Garnier Moisture Rescue gel doesn’t test on animals and has none of the bad stuff and is only 7 bucks! Score!

    • Jenn September 1, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

      Oh no! At least you found out the source of what was breaking you out. I had that problem with Cliniques moisturizer. Not only it broke me out it made my skin flake and turn red. Its funny how our skin reacts. What works for one it doesnt for others. Im so glad you found something that works. I will have to check it out Im always down for trying new items.

  2. trendybelleblog September 1, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

    I think it’s a smart tip to tell people to do, my skin acts totally different every season and I never thought to change my foundation! Thanks for the tip 🙂

    Michele 🙂
    http://trendybelleblog.wordpress.com/

    • Jenn September 1, 2013 at 7:13 pm #

      Your welcome! The best foundation for foundation really is a good moisturizer. Hope you find something that works for you

Leave a Reply

Nyrmirez

" Be your own kind of beautiful"

Kflowermaquillage - Musings on Makeup & Beauty

Makeup artist from Australia with an obsession for all things beauty

WhatSheDoesNow

♡ fashion, beauty, positivity ♡

Rosetta Bakes!

Welcome to Rosetta Bakes!

Gracious Luck

...small town Nebraska girl trying to make it in the world! *beauty*diy*product reviews*lifestyle*blogger

What Bailey Wears!

everyday fashion from me to you.

I Am My Own Island

Because We all need to find a way to live with ourselves

thescribblingtrain

The steaming scribbles of my thoughts and life.

