My Beauty Muse: Kevyn Aucoin

29 Aug

images

 

Back when I started doing my own makeup I really had no guidance, so as a teen I had that plastered on severe look that you see most have. It wasn’t fully on goth but close to it.  Eventually I lightened up on the color to make myself presentable (and to be allowed to wear it at school). Then in 1999 this amazing book came out called  Making Faces and I was introduced to Kevyn Aucoin.  In the book he gives you proper makeup lesson as well as doing some amazing transformations on actresses and some actors into iconic Hollywood faces.  I fell in love with him immediately.  He was about bringing glamour  and beauty and the tools for every women to know on how to achieve it. He believed that it was important to make a woman feel beautiful and makeup his tool to help her discover it.

index

One of his most notable contribution to make up was when he was working with Revlon to produce The Nakeds line
(I believe in 1984) that revolutionized how makeup compliments different tones in each out skins. At that time makeup was just concentrating on the yellow towns, but his brought about matching it to those who have a pink or peaches in their completion as well as branding out of the brown tones in blush.  We should all thank him for helping for front all the beautiful options we have in makeup.  Unfortunately he passed away at the early ate of 40 in 2002, but he always remains my muse on beauty.

Here are some of my favorite celebrity transformation to show you how amazing he was

kevyn-aucoin-makeup-6

Isabella Rossellini as Barbara Streisand

kevyn-aucoin-makeup-7

Courtney Love as Jean Harlow

aucoinms2

Martha Stewart (yes THE Martha Stewart) as Veronica Lake

aucoincf2

Calista Flockhart as Audrey Hepburn

gweneth-paltrow

Gwyneth Paltrow as James Dean

The Makeup Gallery gives some great side by sides

If your interested in Making Faces Amazon has some great prices

Leave a Reply

Nyrmirez

" Be your own kind of beautiful"

Kflowermaquillage - Musings on Makeup & Beauty

Makeup artist from Australia with an obsession for all things beauty

WhatSheDoesNow

♡ fashion, beauty, positivity ♡

Rosetta Bakes!

Welcome to Rosetta Bakes!

Gracious Luck

...small town Nebraska girl trying to make it in the world! *beauty*diy*product reviews*lifestyle*blogger

What Bailey Wears!

everyday fashion from me to you.

I Am My Own Island

Because We all need to find a way to live with ourselves

thescribblingtrain

The steaming scribbles of my thoughts and life.

