What’s In My Bag-Makeup Edition Part 1

15 Jul

bag 004

Good Morning my lovelies! Today’s edition of What’s in my Bag is going to be all about the makeup. Also it’s a trilogy, I have two other bags to go since I’m redoing my organization for my makeup in my bathroom.

bag 003

This is my Kat Von D Choo-Choo bag. This has to be my ultimate favorite vessel for my makeup. This is also my main bag that I carry my essentials that I either use daily or something in their weekly.  This is my go to bag for everything and is an amazing carry all for going on trips.  This is what the inside looks like:

bag 005

I holds a lot, there is no rhyme or reason or organization to it, but I do know where everything ends up.  As you can see I really pack it with all my favorites that I cannot live with out.  I hooked you all up with some link love on products to the site to order and some to reviews I did.

Now comes the break down!  I’ll go in a little bit of order on how I put my makeup on

bag 007

The Body Shop Vitamin E Moisture Cream.  This is hands down, the best moisturizer I’ve used. Not only is it all natural, it is scent free, grease free and soaks into skin that allows you to put on you foundation right away.  I use the cream over the regular moisturizer they have in this because it helps with certain parts of my face that is dry.  I’ve been using this for a few years now and love the whole line of their Vitamin E.

bag 008

Next I used the mineral face primer from elf.  I find this even outs my skin for my foundations.  I keep two foundations on hand.  I used two because my face is different from season to season which is odd.  I use Bare Minerals in the Spring/Summer since it’s so hot in Virginia that it allows my face not only get a little color with some protection on it, but it allows my skin to breathe if I end up sweating, and it doesn’t get cakey and run. In the Fall/Winter I use NARS Sheer Glow liquid foundation. This locks in the moisture to keep my skin soft and less of a chance to chap and dry out more in the harsh cooler air.  You will notice that I do not use a finishing powder. I really don’t like the matte look on my face so I skip that step.

bag 011

Urban Decay Eye Potion Primer in Sin. I know some of you have seen me mention this several times and recommend it highly.  This is something I use religiously.  I also use it when I want to keep my make up low key or just am to lazy to do it up for work.  It gives a lovely shimmery champagne look when you do a few layers of it alone.  When using eyeshadow it just gives colors more of a pop and makes it last all day.  If you splurge on anything purchase this at Sephora.

bag 006

Eyeshadow.  I’m going to break this down in a few pictures. I have TONS of shadows but these are what I used every week.  First are my palettes. I’ve done reviews on the Beach Beauty from elf and Sephora Natural Instinct already and I just love them. The Beach Beauty gives bold beach colors and the Natural Instinct has some beautiful neutrals and smokey colors.

bag 021

These two neutrals I use as a brow bone highlighter when I’m using darker and bold colors to give my eyes more definition.  This is Clinique Lucky Penny and The Body Shop in color 03.

bag 022

These are my two absolute favorite fun eyeshadows.  They are from the Kat Von D line and are shade shifters.  On the left is Love Letter the main base color is a plum and shifts into a brownish color.  The Right is Devotion and the main color is a gold that shifts into a beautiful bronze.  I find that Devotion shows more of the color shift then Love Letter but  I do love both.

bag 023

Then for another fun pop of color I have these three lovelies.  Starting from the left is Sephora brand Outrageous Prisma Chrome in Outrageous Metallic Purple. L’Oreal Hip High Intensity Pigment in Flamboyant.  Then Urban Decay in Heat.  My personal favorite is heat I love to use it with some of my golds as an accent color to give a pretty sunset look.

bag 019

I love liquid eyeliner I pretty much use it everyday.  The left is The Body Shop purple liquid eyeliner, that is a bright violet, unfortunately it’s been discontinued.  But my main liner is Sephora brand black purple.  I find that black can be a bit harsh and very rarely use it as a liner color.  This black purple is the perfect shade, its not as dark as black and its slightly darker then plum. What is great about purple, I think, that it goes well with everything like black does.

bag 020

Urban Decay makes the best pencil eyeliner, it goes on so smooth.  I use these three when I have more of a light neutral shadow on and need a bit of a pop.  The light green is Freak, pink in Woodstock and teal in Flipside which is my favorite.

bag 015

I tend to mix my mascaras.  I end up going more towards to Maybelline and Covergirl, I just bought this elf one that I’m still deciding if I like it.  I like mixing Maybelline Falsies and Rocket Volume together to give a mega length look.  Then I pair the Covergirl Clump Buster and Lash Blast Luxe for a less dramatic look.  The elf seems to be ok so far but I need to wear it more before I can give a better review

bag 013bag 014

This is pretty much the only blush I wear anymore, it splurge a little on it because it is perfect for my light skin.  Its NARS Orgasm blush.  It gives you that nice flushed look, well the name pretty much gives you an idea the look it gives.  It’s perfect and it last forever.  As you can tell it’s well loved.

bag 025

Finally my lip colors.  I have done a few reviews on them. So I’ll give you some link love.  I love my Color Whisper from Maybelline in A Plum Prospect and Cherry Pop.  I’m still on the fence on the L’oreal Infinite Fuchsia.  For a soft pretty use I use Revlon Super Lustrous in Coral Reef. NYC Duel lip color in The Penthouse Plum and The Vintage Pinks.  I love love LOVE Covergirls Wetslick in sizzle for a plum shimmer look. And for my quest for the perfect reds I have Paula Dorff red which is more sheer then it looks and elf Matte Lip color in Rich Red.

 

Well this was definitely fun. Later on this week when I begin the organization I will do a part 2 and 3.

Do you have any of these products?  What are you main items you like to use?

 

 

 

7 Responses to “What’s In My Bag-Makeup Edition Part 1”

  1. Sam July 15, 2013 at 5:36 pm #

    I spy bareMinerals. 🙂 It’s my goal to try out the Nars Sheer Glow one of these days. I love the Urban Decay primer potion too. That stuff is like gold. I got a sample tube with my Naked 1 palette, and it has lasted me four months! It’s amazing how little you need!

    • Jenn July 15, 2013 at 7:06 pm #

      One of the large tubes of that primer last forever! And I love the Nars foundation, I splurge only because it doesn’t bother my skin and that it’s actually the most perfect match I’ve ever had.

      • Sam July 15, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

        One day I will splurge on it. I should have thought to get a sample of it from Sephora when I was there on Friday. Dang.

      • Jenn July 15, 2013 at 7:30 pm #

        Next time get a sample! I’m not a fan of the matte one, but a lot of people seem to like it. Nars has to be my favorite line there. I’m a fan of high pigmented eyeshadow so they definitely win on that one.

      • Sam July 16, 2013 at 12:39 am #

        Definitely will do. There’s no way I’m spending that kind of money without giving it a try! 🙂

  2. Dish With Clarissa July 15, 2013 at 9:34 pm #

    Hi

    I nominated you for the bright cheery Sunshine award!

    Enjoy~Clarissa

    http://wp.me/p2Gx3m-YW

    • Jenn July 15, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

      Thanks!!! I will check it out!!

Leave a Reply

Nyrmirez

" Be your own kind of beautiful"

Kflowermaquillage - Musings on Makeup & Beauty

Makeup artist from Australia with an obsession for all things beauty

WhatSheDoesNow

♡ fashion, beauty, positivity ♡

Rosetta Bakes!

Welcome to Rosetta Bakes!

Gracious Luck

...small town Nebraska girl trying to make it in the world! *beauty*diy*product reviews*lifestyle*blogger

What Bailey Wears!

everyday fashion from me to you.

I Am My Own Island

Because We all need to find a way to live with ourselves

thescribblingtrain

The steaming scribbles of my thoughts and life.

