A Beautiful Mind

4 Jul

beautiful mind 014

And now for something a little different.  As much as I love getting into all things cosmetically beautiful I  also love keeping my mind just as lovely.  It’s important that we keep our mind fresh and always going.  I could spend countless hours of watching TV, movies or youtube channels, but at the end of the day reading is what keeps the mind fresh

Two years ago as a Christmas present I got a Kindle.  I never thought I would love it so much since I have a huge love of buying books (as you can see in the above picture I decorated it with two of my favorite things: stars and pink).  I mean I would buy anything discount that looked good.  Now since I got my Kindle I have cut back buying books with an exception of a few things.  I reserve my Kindle purchases to my “smutty”/romance books that I get for free or under $5, decently priced nonfiction books that I wouldn’t normally buy for $15-$20 (I like reading case studies, historical themes, controversial hot topics like the craziness of Scientology which I’m oddly fascinated by their crazy, things like that).  Right now I’m sitting at close to 100 books that need to be read, and over 80 read in two years.  I find the more I read the more my mind gets sharper.  I spend majority of my week behind a computer pushing orders for 8 hours a day.  Not much brain power is used, so this is my outlet to let it not go to mush.  But I do have a few excepts on what I still buy.

ART BOOKS

beautiful mind 001beautiful mind 002beautiful mind 003

I use to be an Art History major, the love of art has never left me even thou I left studying that field.  My prized possession in my books are The World Of Art books, someone was going to throw these out and I rescued them.  Why someone would do this I’m not sure. Time Magazine produced these books decades ago and the quality is nothing I’ve seen recently in any book.  These were meant to last.  The smaller books below are my new growing collection I’ve started on exhibits that I’ve been too. Chihuly was mind blowing and life changing. I’ll share my pictures one day of his glass art.

ZOMBIE BOOKS

beautiful mind 004beautiful mind 006

Some of you know I have a slight obsessions with zombies.  I can’t really tell you where it all started, but I want to attribute it to when I read Pride And Prejudice and Zombies.  As you can see I sprung for the special velvet color edition of the book.  Then the prequel and sequel and a journal and postcards.  I also have some of the more classic zombie books one should own, The Zombie Survival Handbook and World War Z. I’ve also read Warm Bodies and A Zombie Lament a Love story which are another two of my favorite zombie books.  I do buy the occasional when I know they are worthy and special to make it to our book shelf.

Martial Arts

beautiful mind 007

Now this is a little bit more of boyfriends genre but I do enable the buying and learning of it myself.  I will read them with him and learn new tactics whenever he buys one.  We are huge MMA fans and this is how we started our collection. The boyfriend likes to learn everything he can on a subject that he is into and this one isn’t fading. We’re slowly adding books from out favorite fighters, like the Fedor book.

FAVORITE AUTHORS

beautiful mind 005

When I moved a year ago I had to decide what books came and what didn’t, since now I’m sharing a space with a man whose book collection rivaled mine.  One author that isn’t featured that is my absolute favorite is Jennifer Crusie, I’ve read all but 3 books from her.  I’m excited that she has some more in the works out now, so till then I will sparse out reading the 3.  I didn’t bring her books since we started a share a book and pass it along club at work awhile ago, and I knew they would be put to good use. I know at least 4 people that it rotated it too. The two that did come with me were my favorite books from Jane Green: Mr Maybe and Jemima J, and then the Bridget Jones books from Helen Felding.

COMICS

beautiful mind 008beautiful mind 009beautiful mind 010beautiful mind 011

This isn’t my whole collection it’s just a merging of the two of us.  As you can see we are huge Marvel fans.  I think we have just one DC comic The Killing Joke, but that’s a classic must have.  I have my The Walking Dead Compendiums that I splurged on, but I save money buying those then the individuals.  The Deadpool, Marvel Zobmies, Fables are my personal favorite.  Then there is my other DC favorite which are my Harley Quinn Preludes and Knock Knock jokes, which spent looking awhile for.

SURVIVAL AND COMEDY

beautiful mind 012

Yes a weird combination but George Carlin is a must as well as some survival knowledge.

TRAVELS AND HISTORY

beautiful mind 013

We have a whole other shelf dedicated to history, but that’s all my boyfriends who is a history buff, which isn’t my thing.  But this little slice right hear is books and pamphlets from where we have traveled or where we are heading too. The great thing about Virginia is that we are rich in history and historical sites.  We are fans of Monticello and try to make it up there once a year, in the fall it’s beautiful.  We have some things for other places in VA we want to explore too.

COOK BOOKS

books 001

I love love LOVE cook books, more so baking ones.  We have a nice little collection going. They are mostly either baking or Paleo books. The Primal Cravings is my favorite right now. I’ve made a handful of stuff from there which was all healthy, I’m really proud of my Cuban pork burgers and instead of a bread bun I smashed out plantains and used them as the bun. It was Amazing!

A lot of people thought that once the Kindle came out that it would be the death of the book.  I don’t think that is necessarily true.  Certain books are made to be held and to be read.  There is nothing like the look, touch and smell of a book that gets me going.    I find it important to read something once a month to keep myself and mind fresh, and like to spread the idea of doing that to other people.  It’s a little slice of something to do for you and your mind.

How about you? Do you read on the regular? Do you have a special writer you like to read? What’s your favorite genre? Are you reading anything right now and what?

15 Responses to “A Beautiful Mind”

  1. stephinthescreentime July 8, 2013 at 10:57 pm #

    I got a kindle for Christmas too a couple of years ago and I love it! I didn’t think I would since I love holding an actual book in my hands. But they are so fun! I’ve read lots of books lately. There is one in particular I was impressed with called The Book Thief. The author is such a good story teller but it was also one of the saddest books I’ve ever read. I also Youtube about Scientology too. It’s such a sad religion that should not even exist.:(. Did you ever read Jenna Miscavige’s new book about how she escaped it?

    • Jenn July 9, 2013 at 11:31 am #

      I haven’t read it but I have it on my wish list to get later on. What did you think of it? The whole Scientology “religion” just baffles me but I can’t stop reading about it because everything I hear and read about it just seems unreal. I’ll have to look up The Book Theif, I can’t do sad all the time but since you said it was good I’ll take a look out of it. If you like Steven King kind of books check out Horns, it was a great book. I’m excited they are goign to make it into a movie.

      • stephinthescreentime July 9, 2013 at 6:52 pm #

        The Book Thief is such a good book! I think Scientology is such a sad religion. They made her do all these crazy things like talk to ash trays and work so much! Celebrities don’t have to do any of that-that’s why a lot of them are saying that all the hard labor is a lie. I’ll have to check out the book Horns sometime.:)

    • Jenn July 9, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

      Ok I’m going to put that on my wish list for sure. I have this magazine right after Katie Holmes divorced Tom Cruise it has this huge article on her and Scientology and what some of the people in Cruises’s camp had to go thru. I just don’t get it!

      • stephinthescreentime July 9, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

        I don’t get it either. I heard that the reason Nicole Kidman and Tom Cruise broke up was because Nicole Kidman hated Scientology. That should give Tom some clues that it’s a bad religion!:(

    • Jenn July 9, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

      Yes that was in that article I read. Their kids won’t talk to her because she wouldn’t accept Scientology. And the screening process for his “wives” is just stupid.

      • stephinthescreentime July 10, 2013 at 1:56 am #

        What? That’s so insane! That religion just brainwashes people.

      • Jenn July 10, 2013 at 1:58 am #

        I’m glad I’m not alone in this whole WTF Scientology thing!

      • stephinthescreentime July 10, 2013 at 6:54 pm #

        You are not alone! If you go on YouTube and search Jenna Miscavige, you will see lots of different interviews that she has done on different tv shows. ToriMagoo is another good one to search on YouTube. She left Scientology as well and talks about her experiences. There are lots of different videos she has done on there.;)

      • Jenn July 11, 2013 at 12:23 am #

        I know what I’m doing now when I’m doing boring work. I’ll have that playing in the background!

      • stephinthescreentime July 14, 2013 at 2:22 am #

        :):) I just found out on yahoo that another actress left Scientology-She’s from the tv show The Talk. Her name is Leah. Just in case you didn’t hear and wanted to know.:)

    • Jenn July 14, 2013 at 2:40 am #

      I saw that! It all started when she asked where Mischavage wife was. Crazy. I’m glad there is world wide support for her. I’m sure we’ll be hearing more from her.

      • stephinthescreentime July 14, 2013 at 2:58 am #

        Wow! All I saw was that she escaped Scientology. I’m going to have to search and read more on yahoo.;)

      • Jenn July 14, 2013 at 3:28 am #

        If you go to celebitchy they have a few articles on it. Its a great celeb site too.

      • stephinthescreentime July 16, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

        Thanks! I’ll have to look at the website.:)

Leave a Reply

Nyrmirez

" Be your own kind of beautiful"

Kflowermaquillage - Musings on Makeup & Beauty

Makeup artist from Australia with an obsession for all things beauty

WhatSheDoesNow

♡ fashion, beauty, positivity ♡

Rosetta Bakes!

Welcome to Rosetta Bakes!

Gracious Luck

...small town Nebraska girl trying to make it in the world! *beauty*diy*product reviews*lifestyle*blogger

What Bailey Wears!

everyday fashion from me to you.

I Am My Own Island

Because We all need to find a way to live with ourselves

thescribblingtrain

The steaming scribbles of my thoughts and life.

