The not powerful and definately not so great Oz

10 Mar

images

I honestly got excited when I saw the first reviews come trickling in for the Great and Power Oz.  All be it that I have never been a HUGE fan of Wizard of Oz, but I will give props where props are due.  Wizard of Oz was something spectacular if its time, it had heart, it had wonderment, it had adventure, a bad guy, personal turmoil, I can go on and on.  Heck I even liked Return to Oz, as creepy as it was, but it was like Wizard of Oz, but with some horror element and a steam punk style.  The Great and Powerful Oz, nothing, I have no feeling on it. I can’t tell you if I liked it or if I hated it.

So let me start with some positive things out there. There was some very beautiful shots.  It was bright and I did really feel transformed into another world.  Zach Braff was great as the monkey side kick, he was a nice comic relief and had some emotional factor to it.  Finally Michelle Williams, it wasn’t till we got to her Glinda that I felt like we had someone who was acting appropriately. She was a breath of fresh air and truly fit the part of her character.

Now to the other stuff.  Even thou I thought some parts were just shot beautiful, there was some really really rough shots.  The green screen was very obvious to the point I was screaming in my head “come on guys did you use your budget on the baboons?”.  I have respect for the CGI fx guys, but you have a budget and you give me obvious green screen, no sir I feel duped.  Then there were the costumes, one word, cheap.  There were no over sparkle dresses, it was all shabby and cheap, no chic.  Then there was the lack of air.  I mean literal air. There was no sense of movement except when the witches were at a standstill and their dresses moved…whhaaaaaa? Yes just as perplexed still about this.

Next to the two biggest problems, first the pacing.  When it was slow it was at a snails pace, then I think in the editing room when they saw this, they though ‘oh shit, we got to do something exciting’ and then cut to abruptness.  It was like: Suddenly something happens….and then stop lets slow it down…..quick cut something happens….and slow it down.  Because of this, there was no climatic parts.  And finally the acting.  OH. MY. GOD. The acting.  Again with the exception of Michelle Williams the acting was atrocious.  Mila Kunis and Rachael Weisz were terrible, and they both can give and have given some decent performances.  Kunis as just so angry even thou she was told she wasn’t suppose to have no emotion and was not menacing at all, and Weisz well it was just sad, to the point it was kind of funny of how hard she was trying to make her part into something. And finally James Frano, oh my little art house monkey.  I felt like he was phoning it in the most and collecting a pay check.  For a role that Robert Downey Jr. was suppose to have he could have at least attempted some type of acting. Instead we got a cheap, fake and phoney Franco who probably needed his one movie of the year to stay in the main stream so he can keep making his art house things.

There is one thing I will leave you with that I took away from this movie.  It was the message.  If it is to the good of the people it is ok to lie to give them the illusion that ever thing will be fine.  Remember kids lying is ok, so you can sleep well at night even thou the bad person is coming for you.

7 Responses to “The not powerful and definately not so great Oz”

  1. Samantha March 11, 2013 at 3:14 am #

    I saw it, and I thought it was alright. I thought there was a lot of really pretty CGI going on, but I can agree with the “no air” comment. I hated Mila Kunis as the Wicked Witch! The whole time I was watching her I was just thinking…terrible casting. I think what really pushed her character over the edge of shame was the blatant sexualization of her character with her clevage hanging out. I mean, come on guys. We get it. She’s sexy. The Wicked Witch is supposed to be ugly and insecure about her skin color (i.e. she’s going to cover up as much as possible). Sigh. That’s the movie business for you.

  2. icedwavez March 11, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

    I agree with Kunis. The only actress they got it righ was Williams. I just had so many problems with it. That’s what happens when I get bored in a movie. And I was giving Franco the benefit of the doubt, but in the back of my head I was thinking this was RDJ’s role. RDJ would have brought the arrogance that was needed. In the end thou, it was for the better for him not to be in it, and at least I got to see an Iron Man trailer before hand. I can’t wait for that one!! Yah Shane Black movie, this is going to be exciting!! And if your not sure who Shane Black is check out Kiss Kiss Bang Bang. AMAZING movie!

  3. godtisx March 17, 2013 at 11:55 am #

    Wow, guess I’ll wait for it on itunes (save a few bucks).

  4. lizzythomson11 April 3, 2013 at 12:51 am #

    I saw the movie, it was good and bad at the same time. The good thing that came out of it was that it all pieced together for the movie the wizard of oz, the bad thing to me was that oz was so dang full of himself and thought he was a ladies man,,,he was butt ugly.

    • Jenn April 3, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

      I hate to see what a sequel will be like. I didn’t know till this movie that the Oz book series is like 12 books. It seemed like they did piece it all together.

      • lizzythomson11 April 3, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

        Oh lord….you can count me out on that 👎

      • Jenn April 3, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

        lol yah i don’t want to see a sequel either

Leave a Reply

Nyrmirez

" Be your own kind of beautiful"

Kflowermaquillage - Musings on Makeup & Beauty

Makeup artist from Australia with an obsession for all things beauty

WhatSheDoesNow

♡ fashion, beauty, positivity ♡

Rosetta Bakes!

Welcome to Rosetta Bakes!

Gracious Luck

...small town Nebraska girl trying to make it in the world! *beauty*diy*product reviews*lifestyle*blogger

What Bailey Wears!

everyday fashion from me to you.

I Am My Own Island

Because We all need to find a way to live with ourselves

thescribblingtrain

The steaming scribbles of my thoughts and life.

