One point for the guys…yes romance movies make us delusional

10 Mar

images

I’m sitting here this morning watching The Backup Plan  (which is mildly entertaining, and it was that or Sex and the City on E! which since it’s edited it isn’t so exciting) and a thought came to me and why romance movies sell to us.  Ladies, and please if you can prove me wrong, when has anything in a romance movie happened to you?  I have never had a big romantic gesture.  The closest I’ve came to was when I mentioned to my boyfriend on how I love him in a beard, so in the  peak of summer he had grown a full on beard (he’ll never say he did it for me exactly, but the timing people, the timing!).  I’ve never had these grand elaborated romantic first date dinners, or romantic get aways and so on.

I will be the first to admit I’m not like most girls. While I wear make up and dresses, I love crass humor, curse like a sailor, infatuated with zombie, can rattle off what is going on in the UFC/MMA world and read comics all day long. Maybe that is why there is not a huge want of romanticism in me. But damn it I get pulled into the gimmick of these movies.  Sure one day I would love to walking into our apartment, and wonder why the lights are off and there is just a slight glow, and as I climb the stairs notice that the table is lit with candles, a bottle of wine is chilling  and this elaborate dinner planned sans the smoke alarm going off (that’s what happened Valentines Day when he tried to cook, it was 20 degrees outside, all the windows were open and the apartment was filled with smoke, but the dinner was still delicious, and I got a show with it since he was running around to contain it.  All in good humor people, it was very memorable and I laughed my ass off the whole time).  I digress thou.  So dinner, candles, wine, romance.  And he comes out in a suit and has flowers and blah blah blah.

I think this is why we watch this movies, so we can implant ourselves in them because we have either never experienced it or never will. I know this isn’t the biggest revelation, but sometimes someone has to give guys their props when they call us delusional for wanting or expecting a little bit of this in our own lives.  Yes you’re right, you’re right, you’re right.  But we ladies won’t stop.  We’ll buy into romance movies like they are the last piece of chocolate in the world while we’re mid-cycle, we become rabid.  Just so we can feed into our fantasies.

And we won’t stop. We’ll just keep going to them.  We’ll call our girlfriends to go see one, and then bitch and complain when the last time our boyfriend or husbands did something for us remotely close.  The cycle will perpetuation over and over again.  I had to stop going to see these type of movies (especially when I was single)  or I would make myself crazy.  So I resort to watching them on tv, so there is some type of delay on having to watch them.  That’s the catch, I’ll never stop watching them.  It’ll never stop. And so slowly I’m coming more delusional with every one watched and want waiting for that grand gesture, that will only happen when I fantasize and get lost in the romance of that movie.

3 Responses to “One point for the guys…yes romance movies make us delusional”

  1. Mira March 10, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

    I think life often beats film and literature. Just you wait. Hope it will surprise you in many good ways 🙂

  2. excessiveblush March 11, 2013 at 8:28 am #

    Keep an open mind, movie stuff does happen! I do totally understand what you mean though – I have written two papers for school and uni on this exact topic! Its crazy the impact it has on expectations as well as gender roles!

  3. Nauru wakacje March 13, 2013 at 8:10 am #

    You could certainly see your expertise in the work you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to mention how they believe. Always follow your heart.

Leave a Reply

Nyrmirez

" Be your own kind of beautiful"

Kflowermaquillage - Musings on Makeup & Beauty

Makeup artist from Australia with an obsession for all things beauty

WhatSheDoesNow

♡ fashion, beauty, positivity ♡

Rosetta Bakes!

Welcome to Rosetta Bakes!

Gracious Luck

...small town Nebraska girl trying to make it in the world! *beauty*diy*product reviews*lifestyle*blogger

What Bailey Wears!

everyday fashion from me to you.

I Am My Own Island

Because We all need to find a way to live with ourselves

thescribblingtrain

The steaming scribbles of my thoughts and life.

